Pre-departure

Standard

Well the date is nearly here, and I keep swinging between extreme excitement and not wanting to go at all. I know that will pass once I get there though.

I’m all packed (my poor suitcase was pleading with me not to stuff anything else in), and I only have to pick my visa up tomorrow. Last minute I know, but I had to go home for Christmas, and the visa office is in central London. I’m very certain it’ll be fine though, so I only have to collect it. *fingers crossed*

I went on a final shopping trip for drug supplies – read plenty of diarrhoea tablets and suncream – and thought I better try on the shalwar kameez suits I had had made during my last trip to India before packing them. Turns out this was a wise move, as I am no longer tiny, meaning 2 of my outfits would have just been for decoration!

I started reading the British government’s travel advice pages earlier today as well, which made me a little more nervous than I really needed to be:

Around 700,000 British nationals visit India every year. Between 1 April 2011 and 31 March 2012, 322 British nationals required consular assistance for the following types of incidents: 107 deaths; 67 hospitalisations; and 39 arrests for a variety of offences.

And also:

There is a high threat from terrorism throughout India. Terrorists have targeted places in the past which westerners are known to visit including public places such as restaurants, hotels, railway stations, markets, places of worship and sporting venues.

Now that is something which I already knew, but it’s a little disconcerting when they give you all of the graphic statistics. The site then goes on to mention specific areas, which for South India focuses thus:

Female travellers should observe and respect local dress and customs. There has been a series of high-profile incidents in Goa of alleged rape against foreign nationals, including Britons. See our Rape and sexual assault abroad and Your trip pages.

Oh yay. Still, the advice on what to do if caught in a tropical storm or earthquake was quite helpful. At least I can feel prepared in the face of a natural disaster, even if I am in danger of mugging/sexual assault/violent political protests/bombings at all other times.

It makes me smile though – I’d really like to read other country’s perspectives on the British threats to foreign travellers. As far as I’m concerned, India is a safe country if you’re streetwise and sensible about where and how you travel around. No less dangerous than a night out in Nottingham. And to be honest, they’re far more polite about it in India.

So despite this little bit of scaremongering, I’m feeling very geared up to go, which I always take as a good sign. I just want the day of my flight to be here. I’m killing time learning how to use my camera before I go, as I’ve never actually looked at the manual, and always find it frustrating to be in the perfect set-up for a good photograph only to be foiled by my ignorance of what the aperture button does. Here’s to a day of learning!

Leave a Reply

