A Long Drop

Standard

As I sit and write this I am now in Egham, Surrey (or thereabouts) and counting down the hours until the dreaded bungee jump. I think I am far more nervous about the jump than for leaving England or any of the other challenges I’ll face on India. I don’t mind the thought of falling – I’d love to do a skydive, just as soon as they make it cheaper – but the recoil from the rope, and having no control over your motion, already makes me feel queasy.

Fortunately I’ve had lots of positive responses from friends, work colleagues, and family. My sponsorship form has been pinned up at work for a few weeks gradually gaining signatures, and more people have been asking me about it. I haven’t really been concentrating on getting sponsorship in recent weeks however due to the proximity of other fundraising events, and hence I have yet to reach my target amount. Sponsorship currently adds up to just under £200, and ideally I would love to triple this!

I know that I have only 23 hours and 35 minutes in which to do this (oh god), but I know I can get more people to sponsor me. This is so important for me to be able to cover the accommodation costs whilst I’m volunteering in India. Though comparitively cheaper to live in than the UK, Bangalore is still reasonably expensive for India, and over a year’s stay will likely cost in excess of £2000. As my budget currently stands, I do not have enough to pay for the whole year and really need to up my ante in this regard.

For the first two months I’ll be living with a family about 5km from the SICHREM office. I don’t know if they have any children, or what sort of home/area they live in, but I am so excited for the chance to live as part of the local community. It will far exceed any tourist guide or book, and should let me settle in very easily. Once I’ve got acquainted and can navigate my way round the city like a pro, and maybe even having picked up some culinary prowess, I might then go on to stay in an apartment with another family, or share a place with a professional city worker. I may even get super-confident and stay by myself in a newly-built set of apartments in the city. All of these options, my supervisor at the charity tells me, come in under 15000 INR a month (£200ish), and the homestay option where I also receive 2 full meals a day, is only £130/month!

Despite this, I still desperately require funds to be able to afford everything. I therefore ask, if you would like to help me in working unpaid for this fantastic charity, and support a volunteer placement which will be making a genuine and important difference to people’s awareness of, and experiences of, human rights issues in South India, please support me online, or in person by signing my sponsorship form. I am in Egham until Tuesday or Wednesday next week, so if you don’t see me before my ordeal, you still have time to make my day. 🙂

I cannot emphasise enough how much I am loathe to do this bungee jump, and am genuinely scared at the thought of stepping off that platform. If nothing else, please sponsor me just to see me suffer. Evidence of my pain will be posted tomorrow, in full hd!

Leave a Reply

