Earth Energies Evening

Standard

My first (proper) fundraiser event!

Jan Cassells from Earth Energies, giving her talk on the benefits of fruit and veg

I was invited by Jan from Earth Energies (www.earth-energies.co.uk) to attend her talk in Broughton (a nearby village) on her business and its ethos. She spoke about the multitude of benefits from eating fruit and veg, and about so many of the ill-effects from other foods that I think I may never eat anything but apples again. The one that sticks in my mind is the plastic coating that develops from margarine if you leave it long enough. :S

But on a happier note, I gave a quick speech at the end about the work I would be doing and appealed for donations. Even though there were only a handful of people there I managed to raise a fantastic £20.88. I never cease to be amazed by how generous people are.

This has been highlighted again by two of my friends donating to me online almost as soon as I created an event for my sponsored bungee jump. I never would have thought people would be so willing to help me get to India. My running fundraising total so far is £235.49. Keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

