Mad Ideas

Standard

After last week’s success in the fundraising stakes, things have gone less well this week. The Rotary Club have no monies left for me, and my cakes that I left in the work canteen got thrown away by the kitchen staff. Damn them and their food hygiene! Having also sent off my dubious application to the local council, and having just received a pay cheque substantially lower than what I expected (:O), I decided it was time for to take drastic fundraising action.

Initially I was contemplating a sponsored skydive, but the cheapest I could find cost over £200. £200 for 30 seconds of free-fall!? Next was bungee jumping, but I really hate the idea so just put it to one side. I then found an online offer to take a fire-walking course – amazing! – but it was all the way down in Taunton. It was looking possible, and I was about to use my tesco vouchers for the 5 and a half hour train journey there, when I clicked the button ‘activity days: adrenalin’ and found that I could bungee jump for absolutely nothing (well, in fake tesco money).

So I’ve now ended up doing the one thing I least wanted to do, and actually feel quite terrified about it. I love free-fall rides at theme parks, but I’ve been on those bouncing things too where they strap you in a harness, and I hated the feeling of being pulled back up again. :S The only thing that will make me jump off the edge of that platform is knowing people will have sponsored me. Might have to get a helpful shove on the day. I’ve set the date for December 1st, what a way to start Christmas! 😀

Leave a Reply

