Learning the Language

Standard

In preparation for being able to fit in as easily as possible with my volunteer work placement, I wanted to learn to speak Hindi. It’s something I’ve been trying to do ever since I came back from India in 2009 (most unsuccessfully – I can just about remember all of the alphabet). Although they speak Kannada in Bangalore, I still want to learn for the sake of travelling about the rest of the country, and as a long-term skill. Who knows where I’ll be in 5 years time (hopefully working in India).

It’s incredibly difficult though. I found this awesome online script tutor from SOAS (http://www.avashy.com/hindiscripttutor.htm) which gives you tests and pronunciation lessons, and a complete website of about 20 lessons, all free, at http://taj.chass.ncsu.edu/. I also have a teach yourself book and CD – but I have a feeling it’s going to take a long time to reach the conversational stage.

Here’s to committing to one hour a day, and becoming fantastically fluent in time for my arrival! Google translate also helps 😀

Leave a Reply

